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8 SYNOPSIS:         Under existing law, certain persons

9 authorized to drive a motor vehicle who are

10 convicted of driving under the influence are

11 required to have installed an operating ignition

12 interlock device for certain periods of time.

13 This bill would authorize the Department of

14 Public Safety to withdraw the 90-day suspension of

15 a person's driver's license for a first conviction

16 of driving under the influence if the judge orders

17 the offender or the offender elects to have an

18 ignition interlock device installed and operating

19 on the designated motor vehicle and is issued a

20 restricted license.

21 This bill would allow driver's license

22 revocation periods to be commuted for certain

23 driving under the influence violations upon

24 completion of a certain portion of the revocation

25 and upon the installation of a certified ignition

26 interlock device in a designated motor vehicle.
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1 This bill would require the installation of

2 a certified ignition interlock device for a person

3 convicted of driving under the influence with at

4 least .15 percent or more by weight of alcohol in

5 his or her blood.

6 This bill would require courts to notify the

7 Department of Public Safety of certain driving

8 under the influence convictions requiring

9 installation of an ignition interlock device and

10 would require the department to issue restricted

11 licenses indicating that a licensee is subject to

12 the operation of a motor vehicle only with the

13 approved ignition interlock device installed and

14 properly operating.

15 This bill would specify that ignition

16 interlock requirements do not apply to certain

17 minors adjudicated in juvenile court unless

18 specifically ordered by a court.

19 This bill would specify that a provider of

20 ignition interlock devices who fails to satisfy

21 certain specifications will have its device removed

22 from the list of approved ignition interlock

23 devices for a period of five years.

24 This bill would also create the Alabama

25 Interlock Indigent Fund, to be administered by the

26 Department of Public Safety.
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1 Amendment 621 of the Constitution of Alabama

2 of 1901, now appearing as Section 111.05 of the

3 Official Recompilation of the Constitution of

4 Alabama of 1901, as amended, prohibits a general

5 law whose purpose or effect would be to require a

6 new or increased expenditure of local funds from

7 becoming effective with regard to a local

8 governmental entity without enactment by a 2/3 vote

9 unless: it comes within one of a number of

10 specified exceptions; it is approved by the

11 affected entity; or the Legislature appropriates

12 funds, or provides a local source of revenue, to

13 the entity for the purpose.

14 The purpose or effect of this bill would be

15 to require a new or increased expenditure of local

16 funds within the meaning of the amendment. However,

17 the bill does not require approval of a local

18 governmental entity or enactment by a 2/3 vote to

19 become effective because it comes within one of the

20 specified exceptions contained in the amendment.

21  

22 A BILL

23 TO BE ENTITLED

24 AN ACT

25  

26 To amend Sections 32-5A-191, as amended by Act

27 2012-363 of the 2012 Regular Session, 32-5A-191.4, 32-5A-301,
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1 and 32-5A-304, Code of Alabama 1975, relating to driving under

2 the influence and ignition interlock devices; to authorize the

3 Department of Public Safety to withdraw the driver's license

4 suspension of certain persons for a first conviction of

5 driving under the influence if the judge orders the offender

6 or the offender elects to have an ignition interlock device

7 installed and operating; to allow driver's license revocation

8 periods to be commuted for certain driving under the influence

9 violations upon completion of a certain portion of the

10 revocation and upon the installation of a certified ignition

11 interlock device; to require the installation of a certified

12 ignition interlock device for certain persons convicted of

13 driving under the influence with certain alcohol levels; to

14 require courts to notify the Department of Public Safety of

15 certain driving under the influence convictions requiring the

16 installation of ignition interlock devices; to authorize the

17 department to issue licenses with certain restrictions

18 relating to ignition interlock devices; to specify that

19 ignition interlock requirements do not apply to certain minors

20 adjudicated in juvenile court unless ordered by the court; to

21 provide for the removal of certain providers of ignition

22 interlock services from the approved list for certain

23 violations; to create the Alabama Interlock Indigent Fund; and

24 in connection therewith would have as its purpose or effect

25 the requirement of a new or increased expenditure of local

26 funds within the meaning of Amendment 621 of the Constitution

27 of Alabama of 1901, now appearing as Section 111.05 of the
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1 Official Recompilation of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901,

2 as amended.

3 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF ALABAMA:

4 Section 1. Sections 32-5A-191, as amended by Act

5 2012-363 of the 2012 Regular Session, 32-5A-191.4, 32-5A-301,

6 and 32-5A-304, Code of Alabama 1975, are amended to read as

7 follows:

8 "§32-5A-191.

9 "(a) A person shall not drive or be in actual

10 physical control of any vehicle while:

11 "(1) There is 0.08 percent or more by weight of

12 alcohol in his or her blood;

13 "(2) Under the influence of alcohol;

14 "(3) Under the influence of a controlled substance

15 to a degree which renders him or her incapable of safely

16 driving;

17 "(4) Under the combined influence of alcohol and a

18 controlled substance to a degree which renders him or her

19 incapable of safely driving; or

20 "(5) Under the influence of any substance which

21 impairs the mental or physical faculties of such person to a

22 degree which renders him or her incapable of safely driving.

23 "(b) A person who is under the age of 21 years shall

24 not drive or be in actual physical control of any vehicle if

25 there is 0.02 percent or more by weight of alcohol in his or

26 her blood. The Department of Public Safety shall suspend or

27 revoke the driver's license of any person, including, but not

Page 5



1 limited to, a juvenile, child, or youthful offender, convicted

2 or adjudicated of, or subjected to a finding of, delinquency

3 based on this subsection. Notwithstanding the foregoing, upon

4 the first violation of this subsection by a person whose blood

5 alcohol level is between 0.02 and 0.08, the person's driver's

6 license or driving privilege shall be suspended for a period

7 of 30 days in lieu of any penalties provided in subsection (e)

8 of this section, and there shall be no disclosure, other than

9 to courts, law enforcement agencies, and the person's

10 employer, by any entity or person of any information,

11 documents, or records relating to the person's arrest,

12 conviction, or adjudication of or finding of delinquency based

13 on this subsection.

14 "All persons, except as otherwise provided in this

15 subsection for a first offense, including, but not limited to,

16 a juvenile, child, or youthful offender, convicted or

17 adjudicated of or subjected to a finding of delinquency based

18 on this subsection shall be fined pursuant to this section,

19 notwithstanding any other law to the contrary, and the person

20 shall also be required to attend and complete a DUI or

21 substance abuse court referral program in accordance with

22 subsection (k).

23 "(c)(1) A school bus or day care driver shall not

24 drive or be in actual physical control of any vehicle while in

25 performance of his or her duties if there is greater than 0.02

26 percent by weight of alcohol in his or her blood. A person

27 convicted pursuant to this subsection shall be subject to the
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1 penalties provided by this section, except that on the first

2 conviction the Director of Public Safety shall suspend the

3 driving privilege or driver's license for a period of one

4 year.

5 "(2) A person shall not drive or be in actual

6 physical control of a commercial motor vehicle, as defined in

7 49 CFR Part 383.5 of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety

8 Regulations as adopted pursuant to Section 32-9A-2, if there

9 is 0.04 percent or greater by weight of alcohol in his or her

10 blood. Notwithstanding the other provisions of this section,

11 the commercial driver's license or commercial driving

12 privilege of a person convicted of violating this subdivision

13 shall be disqualified for the period provided in accordance

14 with 49 CFR Part 383.51, as applicable, and the person's

15 regular driver's license or privilege to drive a regular motor

16 vehicle shall be governed by the remainder of this section if

17 the person is guilty of a violation of another provision of

18 this section.

19 "(d) The fact that any person charged with violating

20 this section is or has been legally entitled to use alcohol or

21 a controlled substance shall not constitute a defense against

22 any charge of violating this section.

23 "(e) Upon first conviction, a person violating this

24 section shall be punished by imprisonment in the county or

25 municipal jail for not more than one year, or by fine of not

26 less than six hundred dollars ($600) nor more than two

27 thousand one hundred dollars ($2,100), or by both a fine and
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1 imprisonment. In addition, on a first conviction, the Director

2 of Public Safety shall suspend the driving privilege or

3 driver's license of the person convicted for a period of 90

4 days. The 90-day suspension may be withdrawn if the judge

5 orders the offender or the offender elects to have an ignition

6 interlock device installed and operating on the designated

7 motor vehicle driven by the offender for a period of one year

8 from the date of issuance of a driver's license. The driver's

9 license shall indicate that the person's driving privileges

10 are subject to the condition of the installation and use of a

11 certified ignition interlock device on a motor vehicle in lieu

12 of suspension. The person shall present proof of installation

13 of the approved ignition interlock device to the Department of

14 Public Safety and obtain a driver's license indicating that

15 the person is restricted to such use when operating a motor

16 vehicle. If, on a first conviction, any person refusing to

17 provide a blood alcohol concentration or if a child under the

18 age of 14 years was present a passenger in the vehicle at the

19 time of the offense or if someone else besides the offender

20 was injured at the time of the offense, the Director of the

21 Department of Public Safety shall suspend the driving

22 privilege or driver's license of the person convicted for a

23 period of 90 days and the person shall be required to have an

24 ignition interlock device installed and operating on the

25 designated motor vehicle driven by the offender for a period

26 of two years from the date of issuance of a driver's license

27 indicating that the person's driving privileges are subject to
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1 the condition of the installation and use of a certified

2 ignition interlock device on a motor vehicle.

3 "(f) On a second conviction within a five-year

4 period, a person convicted of violating this section shall be

5 punished by a fine of not less than one thousand one hundred

6 dollars ($1,100) nor more than five thousand one hundred

7 dollars ($5,100) and by imprisonment, which may include hard

8 labor in the county or municipal jail for not more than one

9 year. The sentence shall include a mandatory sentence, which

10 is not subject to suspension or probation, of imprisonment in

11 the county or municipal jail for not less than five days or

12 community service for not less than 30 days. In addition the

13 Director of Public Safety shall revoke the driving privileges

14 or driver's license of the person convicted for a period of

15 one year and the offender shall be required to have an

16 ignition interlock device installed and operating on the

17 designated motor vehicle driven by the offender for a period

18 of two years from the date of issuance of a driver's license

19 indicating that the person's driving privileges are subject to

20 the condition of the installation and use of a certified

21 ignition interlock device on a motor vehicle. If, a minimum of

22 45 days after the license revocation or suspension pursuant to

23 Section 32-5A-304, or both, is completed, the person convicted

24 has a certified ignition interlock device installed and

25 operational on the designated motor vehicle driven by the

26 offender, the mandated ignition interlock period of two years

27 provided in this subsection shall begin and the remainder of
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1 the driver's license revocation, suspension, or both, will be

2 commuted.

3 "(g) On a third conviction within a five-year

4 period, a person convicted of violating this section shall be

5 punished by a fine of not less than two thousand one hundred

6 dollars ($2,100) nor more than ten thousand one hundred

7 dollars ($10,100) and by imprisonment, which may include hard

8 labor, in the county or municipal jail for not less than 60

9 days nor more than one year, to include a minimum of 60 days

10 which shall be served in the county or municipal jail and

11 cannot be probated or suspended. In addition, the Director of

12 Public Safety shall revoke the driving privilege or driver's

13 license of the person convicted for a period of three years

14 and the offender shall be required to have an ignition

15 interlock device installed and operating on the designated

16 motor vehicle driven by the offender for a period of three

17 years from the date of issuance of a driver's license

18 indicating that the person's driving privileges are subject to

19 the condition of the installation and use of a certified

20 ignition interlock device on a motor vehicle. If, a minimum of

21 180 days after the license revocation or suspension pursuant

22 to Section 32-5A-304, or both, is completed, the person

23 convicted has a certified ignition interlock device installed

24 and operational on the designated motor vehicle driven by the

25 offender, the mandated ignition interlock period of three

26 years provided in this subsection shall begin and the
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1 remainder of the driver's license revocation, suspension, or

2 both, will be commuted.

3 "(h) On a fourth or subsequent conviction, a person

4 convicted of violating this section shall be guilty of a Class

5 C felony and punished by a fine of not less than four thousand

6 one hundred dollars ($4,100) nor more than ten thousand one

7 hundred dollars ($10,100) and by imprisonment of not less than

8 one year and one day nor more than 10 years. Any term of

9 imprisonment may include hard labor for the county or state,

10 and where imprisonment does not exceed three years confinement

11 may be in the county jail. Where imprisonment does not exceed

12 one year and one day, confinement shall be in the county jail.

13 The minimum sentence shall include a term of imprisonment for

14 at least one year and one day, provided, however, that there

15 shall be a minimum mandatory sentence of 10 days which shall

16 be served in the county jail. The remainder of the sentence

17 may be suspended or probated, but only if as a condition of

18 probation the defendant enrolls and successfully completes a

19 state certified chemical dependency program recommended by the

20 court referral officer and approved by the sentencing court.

21 Where probation is granted, the sentencing court may, in its

22 discretion, and where monitoring equipment is available, place

23 the defendant on house arrest under electronic surveillance

24 during the probationary term. In addition to the other

25 penalties authorized, the Director of Public Safety shall

26 revoke the driving privilege or driver's license of the person

27 convicted for a period of five years and the offender shall be
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1 required to have an ignition interlock device installed and

2 operating on the designated motor vehicle driven by the

3 offender for a period of five years from the date of issuance

4 of a driver's license indicating that the person's driving

5 privileges are subject to the condition of the installation

6 and use of a certified ignition interlock device on a motor

7 vehicle. If, a minimum of one year after the license

8 revocation or suspension pursuant to Section 32-5A-304, or

9 both, is completed, the person convicted has a certified

10 ignition interlock device installed and operational on the

11 designated motor vehicle driven by the offender, the mandated

12 ignition interlock period of five years provided in this

13 subsection shall begin and the remainder of the driver's

14 license revocation, suspension, or both, will be commuted.

15 "The Alabama habitual felony offender law shall not

16 apply to a conviction of a felony pursuant to this subsection,

17 and a conviction of a felony pursuant to this subsection shall

18 not be a felony conviction for purposes of the enhancement of

19 punishment pursuant to Alabama's habitual felony offender law.

20 "(i) When any person convicted of violating this

21 section is found to have had at least 0.15 percent or more by

22 weight of alcohol in his or her blood while operating or being

23 in actual physical control of a vehicle, he or she shall be

24 sentenced to at least double the minimum punishment that the

25 person would have received if he or she had had less than 0.15

26 percent by weight of alcohol in his or her blood. Upon the

27 first violation of this subsection, the offender shall be
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1 required to have an ignition interlock device installed and

2 operating on the designated motor vehicle driven by the

3 offender for a period of two years from the date of issuance

4 of a driver's license indicating that the person's driving

5 privileges are subject to the condition of the installation

6 and use of a certified ignition interlock device on a motor

7 vehicle. If the adjudicated offense is a misdemeanor, the

8 minimum punishment shall be imprisonment for one year, all of

9 which may be suspended except as otherwise provided for in

10 Section 32-5A-191(f) and Section 32-5A-191 (g). In addition,

11 the Director of Public Safety shall revoke the driving

12 privileges or driver's license of the person convicted for a

13 period of not less than one year.

14 "(j) When any person over the age of 21 years is

15 convicted of violating this section and it is found that a

16 child under the age of 14 years was present a passenger in the

17 vehicle at the time of the offense, the person shall be

18 sentenced to at least double the minimum punishment that the

19 person would have received if the child had not been present a

20 passenger in the motor vehicle.

21 "(k)(1) In addition to the penalties provided

22 herein, any person convicted of violating this section shall

23 be referred to the court referral officer for evaluation and

24 referral to appropriate community resources. The defendant

25 shall, at a minimum, be required to complete a DUI or

26 substance abuse court referral program approved by the

27 Administrative Office of Courts and operated in accordance
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1 with provisions of the Mandatory Treatment Act of 1990,

2 Sections 12-23-1 to 12-23-19, inclusive. The Department of

3 Public Safety shall not reissue a driver's license to a person

4 convicted under this section without receiving proof that the

5 defendant has successfully completed the required program.

6 "(2) Upon conviction, the court shall notify the

7 Department of Public Safety that the person convicted is

8 required to install and maintain an approved ignition

9 interlock device. The Department of Public Safety shall cancel

10 a person's driving privileges until completion of the

11 mandatory suspension or revocation period as required by this

12 section, and clearance of all other suspension, revocation,

13 cancellation, or denial as required, and proof of installation

14 of an approved ignition interlock device is presented to the

15 Department of Public Safety. The Department of Public Safety

16 shall not reissue a driver's license to a person required by

17 the courts or law to have the device installed until proof is

18 presented and upon being otherwise eligible for reinstatement

19 of driving privileges. Upon presentation of proof and

20 completion of all ignition interlock requirements, the

21 Department of Public Safety shall issue a driver's license

22 with a restriction indicating that the licensee is subject to

23 the operation of a motor vehicle only with the approved

24 ignition interlock device installed and properly operating. If

25 the licensee fails to maintain the approved ignition interlock

26 device as required or is otherwise in noncompliance with any

27 orders of the court, the court shall notify the Department of
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1 Public Safety regarding the noncompliance and the department

2 shall cancel the person's driver license or driving privileges

3 until notification is received from the court that the

4 licensee is in compliance. The restriction indicating that the

5 licensee is subject to the ignition interlock device may be

6 removed only upon confirmation by the court of conviction to

7 the department that the licensee is no longer subject to the

8 ignition interlock device requirement.

9 "(l) Neither reckless driving nor any other traffic

10 infraction is a lesser included offense under a charge of

11 driving under the influence of alcohol or of a controlled

12 substance.

13 "(m) Except for fines collected for violations of

14 this section charged pursuant to a municipal ordinance, fines

15 collected for violations of this section shall be deposited to

16 the State General Fund; however, beginning October 1, 1995, of

17 any amount collected over two hundred fifty dollars ($250) for

18 a first conviction, over five hundred dollars ($500) for a

19 second conviction within five years, over one thousand dollars

20 ($1,000) for a third conviction within five years, and over

21 two thousand dollars ($2,000) for a fourth or subsequent

22 conviction within five years, the first one hundred dollars

23 ($100) of that additional amount shall be deposited to the

24 Alabama Chemical Testing Training and Equipment Trust Fund,

25 after three percent of the one hundred dollars ($100) is

26 deducted for administrative costs, and beginning October 1,

27 1997, and thereafter, the second one hundred dollars ($100) of
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1 that additional amount shall be deposited in the Impaired

2 Drivers Trust Fund after deducting five percent of the one

3 hundred dollars ($100) for administrative costs and the

4 remainder of the funds shall be deposited to the State General

5 Fund. Fines collected for violations of this section charged

6 pursuant to a municipal ordinance where the total fine is paid

7 at one time shall be deposited as follows: The first three

8 hundred fifty dollars ($350) collected for a first conviction,

9 the first six hundred dollars ($600) collected for a second

10 conviction within five years, the first one thousand one

11 hundred dollars ($1,100) collected for a third conviction, and

12 the first two thousand one hundred dollars ($2,100) collected

13 for a fourth or subsequent conviction shall be deposited to

14 the State Treasury with the first one hundred dollars ($100)

15 collected for each conviction credited to the Alabama Chemical

16 Testing Training and Equipment Trust Fund and the second one

17 hundred dollars ($100) to the Impaired Drivers Trust Fund

18 after deducting five percent of the one hundred dollars ($100)

19 for administrative costs and depositing this amount in the

20 general fund of the municipality, and the balance credited to

21 the State General Fund. Any amounts collected over these

22 amounts shall be deposited as otherwise provided by law. Fines

23 collected for violations of this section charged pursuant to a

24 municipal ordinance, where the fine is paid on a partial or

25 installment basis, shall be deposited as follows: The first

26 two hundred dollars ($200) of the fine collected for any

27 conviction shall be deposited to the State Treasury with the
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1 first one hundred dollars ($100) collected for any conviction

2 credited to the Alabama Chemical Testing Training and

3 Equipment Trust Fund and the second one hundred dollars ($100)

4 for any conviction credited to the Impaired Drivers Trust Fund

5 after deducting five percent of the one hundred dollars ($100)

6 for administrative costs and depositing this amount in the

7 general fund of the municipality. The second three hundred

8 dollars ($300) of the fine collected for a first conviction,

9 the second eight hundred dollars ($800) collected for a second

10 conviction, the second one thousand eight hundred dollars

11 ($1,800) collected for a third conviction, and the second

12 three thousand eight hundred dollars ($3,800) collected for a

13 fourth conviction shall be divided with 50 percent of the

14 funds collected to be deposited to the State Treasury to be

15 credited to the State General Fund and 50 percent deposited as

16 otherwise provided by law for municipal ordinance violations.

17 Any amounts collected over these amounts shall be deposited as

18 otherwise provided by law for municipal ordinance violations.

19 Notwithstanding any provision of law to the contrary, 90

20 percent of any fine assessed and collected for any DUI offense

21 charged by municipal ordinance violation in district or

22 circuit court shall be computed only on the amount assessed

23 over the minimum fine authorized, and upon collection shall be

24 distributed to the municipal general fund with the remaining

25 10 percent distributed to the State General Fund.

26 "(n) A person who has been arrested for violating

27 this section shall not be released from jail under bond or
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1 otherwise, until there is less than the same percent by weight

2 of alcohol in his or her blood as specified in subsection

3 (a)(1) or, in the case of a person who is under the age of 21

4 years, subsection (b) hereof.

5 "(o) Upon verification that a defendant arrested

6 pursuant to this section is currently on probation from

7 another court of this state as a result of a conviction for

8 any criminal offense, the prosecutor shall provide written or

9 oral notification of the defendant's subsequent arrest and

10 pending prosecution to the court in which the prior conviction

11 occurred.

12 "(p) When any person over the age of 21 years is

13 convicted pursuant to this section and a child under the age

14 of 14 years was present in the vehicle at the time of the

15 offense, the defendant shall be sentenced to double the

16 minimum punishment that the person would have received if the

17 child had not been present in the motor vehicle.

18 "(q)(p) A prior conviction within a five-year period

19 for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs from this

20 state, a municipality within this state, or another state or

21 territory or a municipality of another state or territory

22 shall be considered by a court for imposing a sentence

23 pursuant to this section.

24 "(r)(q) Any person convicted of driving under the

25 influence of alcohol, or a controlled substance, or both, or

26 any substance which impairs the mental or physical faculties

27 in violation of this section, a municipal ordinance adopting
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1 this section, or a similar law from another state or territory

2 or a municipality of another state or territory more than once

3 in a five-year period shall have his or her motor vehicle

4 registration for all vehicles owned by the repeat offender

5 suspended by the Alabama Department of Revenue for the

6 duration of the offender's driver's license suspension period,

7 unless such action would impose an undue hardship to any

8 individual, not including the repeat offender, who is

9 completely dependent on the motor vehicle for the necessities

10 of life, including any family member of the repeat offender

11 and any co-owner of the vehicle or, in the case of a repeat

12 offender, if the repeat offender has a functioning ignition

13 interlock device installed on the designated vehicle for the

14 duration of the offender's driver's license suspension or

15 revocation period.

16 "(s)(r)(1) Any person ordered by the court to have

17 an ignition interlock device installed on a designated vehicle

18 shall pay to the court, during for each of the first four

19 months following his or her license is suspended conviction,

20 seventy-five dollars ($75) per month, which shall be divided

21 as follows:

22 "(1)a. Forty-five percent to the Alabama Interlock

23 Indigent Fund.

24 "(2)b. Twenty-five percent to the court of

25 jurisdiction State Judicial Administration Fund administered

26 by the Administrative Office of Courts.
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1 "(3)c. Twenty percent to the Department of Public

2 Safety Highway Traffic Safety Fund administered by the

3 Department of Public Safety.

4 "(4)d. Fifteen percent to the district attorney of

5 jurisdiction District Attorney's Solicitor Fund.

6 "(2) The defendant shall pay all costs associated

7 with the installation, purchase, maintenance, or lease of the

8 ignition interlock device to an approved ignition interlock

9 pursuant to the rules of the Department of Forensic Sciences,

10 unless the defendant is subject to Section 32-5A-191.4(g)(4).

11 "(t)(s) The defendant shall designate the vehicle to

12 be used by identifying the vehicle by the vehicle

13 identification number to the court. The defendant may

14 designate additional vehicles under this subsection to have

15 additional ignition interlock devices at his or her expense.

16 "(u)(1)(t)(1) Any person who is required to comply

17 with the ignition interlock provisions of this section as a

18 condition of restoration or reinstatement of his or her

19 driver's license, shall only operate the designated vehicle

20 equipped with a functioning ignition interlock device for the

21 period of time consistent with the offense for which he or she

22 was convicted as provided for in this section.

23 "(2) The duration of the time an ignition interlock

24 device is required by this section shall be doubled if the

25 offender refused the prescribed chemical test for

26 intoxication, or if the offender's blood alcohol concentration
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1 was 0.15 grams percent or greater unless already doubled by a

2 previous subsection.

3 "(v)(1)(u)(1) The Department of Public Safety may

4 set a fee of not more than one hundred fifty dollars ($150)

5 for the issuance of a driver's license indicating that the

6 person's driving privileges are subject to the condition of

7 the installation and use of a certified ignition interlock

8 device on a motor vehicle. Fifteen percent of the fee shall be

9 distributed to the general fund of the county where the person

10 was convicted to be utilized for law enforcement purposes. In

11 addition, at the end of the time the person's driving

12 privileges are subject to the above conditions, the department

13 shall set a fee of not more than seventy-five dollars ($75) to

14 reissue a regular driver's license. The fee shall be deposited

15 as provided in Sections 32-6-5, 32-6-6, and 32-6-6.1.

16 "(2) The defendant shall provide proof of

17 installation of an approved ignition interlock device to the

18 Department of Public Safety as a condition of the issuance of

19 a restricted driver's license.

20 "(3) Any ignition interlock driving violation

21 committed by the offender during the mandated ignition

22 interlock period shall extend the duration of ignition

23 interlock use for six months from the date of violation and

24 positive identification ignition interlock shall be required

25 for the duration of the term. Ignition interlock driving

26 violations include any of the following:
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1 "a. A breath sample at or above a minimum blood

2 alcohol concentration level of 0.02 recorded more than four

3 times during the monthly reporting period.

4 "b. Any tampering, circumvention, or bypassing of

5 the ignition interlock device, or attempt thereof.

6 "c. Failure to comply with the servicing or

7 calibration requirements of the ignition interlock device

8 every 30 days.

9 "(w)(v) Nothing in this section and Section

10 32-5A-191.4 shall require an employer to install an ignition

11 interlock device in a vehicle owned or operated by the

12 employer for use by an employee required to use the device as

13 a condition of driving pursuant to this section and Section

14 32-5A-191.4.

15 "(w) The provisions in this section and Section

16 32-5A-191.4 relating to ignition interlock devices shall not

17 apply to persons who commit violations of this section while

18 under the age of 19 years of age and are adjudicated in

19 juvenile court, unless specifically ordered otherwise by the

20 court.

21 "§32-5A-191.4.

22 "(a) As used in Section 32-5A-191, the term,

23 "ignition interlock device" means a constant monitoring device

24 that prevents a motor vehicle from being started at any time

25 without first determining the equivalent blood alcohol level

26 of the operator through the taking of a breath sample for

27 testing. The system shall be calibrated so that the motor
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1 vehicle may not be started if the blood alcohol level of the

2 operator, as measured by the test, reaches a blood alcohol

3 concentration level of 0.02.

4 "(b) The ignition interlock device shall be

5 installed, calibrated, and monitored directly by trained

6 technicians who shall train the offender for whom the device

7 is being installed in the proper use of the device. The use of

8 a mail in or remote calibration system where the technician is

9 not in the immediate proximity of the vehicle being calibrated

10 is prohibited. Any provider found by the Department of

11 Forensic Sciences or Department of Public Safety in violation

12 of this subsection shall have its device or devices

13 immediately removed from the list of approved ignition

14 interlock devices for a period of five years.

15 "(c) The Department of Forensic Sciences shall

16 formulate and promulgate rules for the proper approval,

17 installation, and use of ignition interlock devices.

18 Additionally, the Department of Forensic Sciences shall

19 maintain and make public the list of approved ignition

20 interlock devices.

21 "(d) The Department of Forensic Sciences may adopt

22 in whole or relevant part the guidelines, rules, regulations,

23 studies, or independent laboratory tests performed or relied

24 upon by other states, their agencies, or commissions.

25 "(e) The Department of Forensic Sciences shall

26 charge an application fee of two thousand dollars ($2,000) to

27 any ignition interlock provider to evaluate the instrument.
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1 Any ignition interlock provider whose ignition interlock

2 device is approved by the Department of Forensic Sciences

3 shall be permitted to install and calibrate its approved

4 device in Alabama. Each year during the month of April, the

5 Department of Forensic Sciences may receive applications and

6 instruments to review for approval.

7 "(f) In the absence of negligence, wantonness, or

8 willful misconduct, no person or employer or agent of a person

9 who installs an ignition interlock device pursuant to Section

10 32-5A-191 shall be liable for any occurrence related to the

11 device, including, but not limited to, occurrences resulting

12 from or related to a malfunction of the device or use of,

13 misuse of, or failure to use the device or the vehicle in

14 which the device was installed.

15 "(g)(1) When the court imposes the use of an

16 ignition interlock device as required by Section 32-5A-191,

17 the court shall require that the person provide proof of

18 installation of a device to the court or a an adult probation

19 officer within 30 days of the date the defendant becomes

20 eligible to receive a restricted license from the Department

21 of Public Safety. If the person fails to provide proof of

22 installation within that period, absent a finding by the court

23 of good cause for that failure which is entered into the court

24 record, the court shall may revoke the person's probation

25 where applicable after a petition to revoke probation has been

26 filed and the defendant has been given notice and an

27 opportunity to be heard on the petition.
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1 "(2) Proof of installation for the purpose of this

2 subsection may be furnished by either a certificate of

3 installation or a copy of the lease agreement in the name of

4 the offender for the designated vehicle with an approved

5 ignition interlock device company.

6 "(3) A defendant who is determined by the court to

7 be indigent for the purpose of ignition interlock may have an

8 ignition interlock device installed by an ignition interlock

9 provider as provided in this subsection. Criteria for

10 determining indigency for the purpose of ignition interlock

11 shall be the same criteria as set forth in Section 15-12-5(b)

12 and Section 15-12-5(c) after the report is complete. In

13 determining whether the defendant is indigent for the purpose

14 of ignition interlock, the judge shall require an

15 investigation and report by a sheriff, adult probation

16 officer, or other officer of the court. The report may include

17 input from the district attorney or municipal prosecutor. The

18 accused defendant shall execute an affidavit of substantial

19 hardship on a form approved by the Supreme Court. The

20 completed affidavit of substantial hardship and the subsequent

21 order of the court either denying or granting indigency status

22 for the purpose of ignition interlock to the offender shall

23 become a part of the official court record in the case and

24 shall be submitted by the offender to the interlock provider.

25 "(4) Any offender granted indigency status for the

26 purpose of ignition interlock shall pay one-half of the costs

27 associated with installing and maintaining an interlock device
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1 for a period of one year at which time the offender shall pay

2 the full remaining cost. This section shall not affect any

3 fees associated with the driver's license of the defendant.

4 "(5)a. All interlock providers shall be required to

5 pay one and one-half percent of all payments collected less

6 any payments made by a defendant determined as indigent for

7 the purpose of ignition interlock to the Alabama Interlock

8 Indigent Fund in the State Treasury. 

9 "b. The Alabama Interlock Indigent Fund is created

10 in the State Treasury. The fund shall be administered by the

11 Department of Public Safety. All of the money in the fund

12 shall be used to reimburse ignition interlock device providers

13 who have installed devices in vehicles of indigent persons

14 pursuant to court orders issued under this section. No

15 provider shall be reimbursed for an interlock device installed

16 without the completed affidavit of substantial hardship and

17 the subsequent order of the court granting indigency status.

18 Payments to interlock device providers pursuant to this

19 subdivision shall be made every three months. If the amount of

20 money in the fund at the time payments are made is not

21 sufficient to pay all requests for reimbursement submitted

22 during that three-month period, the Comptroller shall make

23 payments on a pro rata basis and those payments shall be

24 considered payment in full for the requests submitted. At the

25 end of each fiscal year, all monies above one hundred thousand

26 dollars ($100,000) five hundred thousand dollars ($500,000)
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1 remaining in the Alabama Interlock Indigent Fund shall be

2 divided as follows:

3 "a.1. Thirty percent to the Department of Public

4 Safety the Highway Traffic Safety Fund administered by the

5 Department of Public Safety.

6 "b.2. Twenty percent to the Department of Forensic

7 Sciences Alabama Chemical Testing Training and Equipment Trust

8 Fund administered by the Department of Forensic Sciences.

9 "c.3. Thirty percent to the district attorney of

10 jurisdiction District Attorney's Solicitor Fund.

11 "d.4. Twenty percent to the Office of Prosecution

12 Services.

13 "(6) Any defendant who does not own a vehicle or

14 otherwise have an ignition interlock device installed on the a

15 vehicle shall be required to pay seventy-five dollars ($75)

16 per month, the same approximate cost the defendant would have

17 paid to an ignition interlock provider if the defendant had an

18 interlock device installed for the entire period the defendant

19 is required to have an ignition interlock device. Any monies

20 paid pursuant to this subdivision shall be paid to the court

21 clerk and shall be deposited in the Alabama Impaired Driving

22 Prevention and Enforcement Fund in the State Treasury to be

23 used by the Department of Public Safety for impaired driving

24 education and enforcement.

25 "(h) No person who is prohibited from operating a

26 motor vehicle unless it is equipped with an ignition interlock

27 device as provided in Section 32-5A-191 shall knowingly:
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1 "(1) Operate, lease, or borrow a motor vehicle

2 unless that vehicle is equipped with a functioning ignition

3 interlock device.

4 "(2) Request or solicit any other person to blow

5 into an ignition interlock device or to start a motor vehicle

6 equipped with the device for the purpose of providing the

7 person so restricted with an operable motor vehicle.

8 "(i)(1) Any person who operates a motor vehicle in

9 violation of subsection (h) shall be immediately removed from

10 the vehicle and taken into custody. The vehicle, regardless of

11 ownership or possessory interest of the operator or person

12 present in the vehicle, except when the owner of the vehicle

13 or another family member of the owner is present in the

14 vehicle and presents a valid driver's license, shall be

15 impounded by any duly sworn law enforcement officer pursuant

16 to Section 32-6-19(c). If there is an emergency or medical

17 necessity jeopardizing life or limb, the law enforcement

18 officer may elect not to impound the vehicle.

19 "(2) A violation of subsection (h) on the first

20 offense is a Class A misdemeanor and punishable as provided by

21 law. In addition, the time the defendant is required to use an

22 ignition interlock device shall be extended by six months.

23 Upon second conviction of a violation of subsection (h), the

24 sentence shall include a mandatory sentence, which is not

25 subject to suspension or probation, of imprisonment in the

26 county or municipal jail for not less than 48 hours and the

27 time the defendant is required to use an ignition interlock
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1 device shall be extended by six months. Upon a third or

2 subsequent conviction of a violation of subsection (h), the

3 sentence shall include a mandatory sentence, which is not

4 subject to suspension or probation, of imprisonment in the

5 county or municipal jail for not less than five days and the

6 time the defendant shall be required to use an ignition

7 interlock device shall be extended by one year.

8 "(j) No person shall blow into an ignition interlock

9 device or start a motor vehicle equipped with the device for

10 the purpose of providing an operable motor vehicle to a person

11 who is prohibited from operating a motor vehicle without an

12 ignition interlock device.

13 "(k) No person shall intentionally attempt to tamper

14 with, defeat, or circumvent the operation of an ignition

15 interlock device.

16 "(l) Any person convicted of a violation of this

17 section other than subsection (h) shall be punished by

18 imprisonment for not more than six months or a fine of not

19 more than five hundred dollars ($500), or both.

20 "§32-5A-301.

21 "(a) A law enforcement officer who arrests any

22 person for a violation of Section 32-5A-191 shall within five

23 days after the day of arrest, excluding weekends and state

24 holidays, hand deliver, or mail, or submit electronically to

25 the department a sworn report of all information relevant to

26 the enforcement action, including information which adequately

27 identifies the arrested person, a statement of the officer's
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1 grounds for belief that the person violated Section 32-5A-191,

2 a sworn report of the results of any chemical test which was

3 conducted, a statement if the person refused to submit to a

4 test, and a copy of the citation or complaint filed with the

5 court.

6 "(b) The report required by this section shall be

7 made on forms supplied by the department or in a manner

8 specified by regulations of the department.

9 "(c) The department shall not take action on any

10 report not sworn to and not mailed and postmarked or received

11 by the department within five days after the day of arrest,

12 excluding weekends and state holidays, and the driver license

13 of the person shall be returned.

14 "§32-5A-304.

15 "(a) A driving privilege suspension shall become

16 effective 45 days after the person has received a notice of

17 intended suspension as provided in Section 32-5A-303, or is

18 deemed to have received a notice of suspension by mail as

19 provided in Section 32-5A-302 if no notice of intended

20 suspension was served.

21 "(b) The period of driving privilege suspension

22 under this section shall be as follows:

23 "(1) Ninety days if the driving record of a person

24 shows no prior alcohol or drug-related enforcement contacts

25 during the immediately preceding five years.
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1 "(2) One year if the driving record of a person

2 shows one prior alcohol or drug-related enforcement contact

3 during the immediately preceding five years.

4 "(3) Three years if the driving record of a person

5 shows two or three alcohol or drug-related enforcement

6 contacts during the immediately preceding five years.

7 "(4) Five years if the driving record of a person

8 shows four or more alcohol or drug-related enforcement

9 contacts during the immediately preceding five years.

10 "(5) For purposes of this section, "alcohol or

11 drug-related enforcement contacts" shall include any

12 suspension under this article, any suspension or revocation

13 entered in this or any other state for a refusal to submit to

14 chemical testing under an implied consent law, and any

15 conviction in this or any other state for a violation which

16 involves driving a motor vehicle while having an unlawful

17 percent of alcohol in the blood, or while under the influence

18 of alcohol or drugs, or alcohol and drugs except that no more

19 than one alcohol or drug-related contact on any one DUI arrest

20 may be considered by the department in determining the period

21 of suspension.

22 "(c) If a license is suspended under this section

23 for having .08 or more by weight of alcohol in the blood of

24 the person and the person is also convicted on criminal

25 charges arising out of the same occurrence for a violation of

26 Section 32-5A-191, the suspension under this section shall be

27 imposed, but no period of suspension or revocation shall be
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1 imposed giving credit for suspension time served toward the

2 duration of suspension or revocation required under Section

3 32-5A-191. If a license is suspended under this section for

4 having .08 or more by weight of alcohol in the blood of the

5 person and the criminal charge against the person for

6 violation of Section 32-5A-191 is dismissed, nolle prossed, or

7 the person is acquitted of the charge, the director shall

8 rescind the suspension order and remove the administrative

9 suspension from the person's driving record."

10 Section 2. The amendatory language in Section 1 of

11 this act to Section 32-5A-191, Code of Alabama 1975, regarding

12 the commutation of driver’s license suspensions and

13 revocations upon compliance with the ignition interlock

14 requirements shall apply retroactively.

15 Section 3. Although this bill would have as its

16 purpose or effect the requirement of a new or increased

17 expenditure of local funds, the bill is excluded from further

18 requirements and application under Amendment 621, now

19 appearing as Section 111.05 of the Official Recompilation of

20 the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as amended, because the

21 bill defines a new crime or amends the definition of an

22 existing crime.

23 Section 4. This act shall become effective on the

24 first day of the third month following its passage and

25 approval by the Governor, or its otherwise becoming law.
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