Drainage Districts in Colbert County.

The court of county commissioners of Colbert county, Alabama, is authorized to divide said county into drainage districts for the control of malaria, and said county is authorized and empowered to levy and collect in the several districts so formed, for use in the control of malaria, in addition to all other taxes now authorized by law, a special tax of three mills on all taxable property situated in the several drainage districts so formed, based upon the valuation of such property as assessed for state taxation, and to be used exclusively for the control of malaria in the drainage district in which the said tax is levied and collected, provided such tax is authorized by a majority of the qualified electors residing in such drainage district voting upon such proposition at an election called and held for the purpose of authorizing such tax, and provided that said tax shall be levied and collected for a period of ten years from the time that it is authorized at the election held in such district. Such an election may be called at any time by the court of county commissioners of said county and shall be held and conducted and the results canvassed as now provided by law for holding and conducting and canvassing the returns of a regular election. The proceeds of the tax hereby authorized shall be used exclusively for the control of malaria in the drainage district in which it is levied and collected and shall be expended through the proper fiscal agencies of the county government under the direction of the governing body of Colbert county, and the Colbert county department of public health.