Special Property Tax for General Health Purposes in Lawrence, Limestone and Morgan Counties.

In addition to all taxes now, or hereafter authorized by the Constitution and laws of Alabama, the counties of Lawrence, Limestone and Morgan, in this state, each, shall have the power to levy and collect a special tax up to 3 mills on each dollar's worth of taxable property in the county, the proceeds of which shall be used exclusively for general health purposes; provided that such tax and the purpose or purposes thereof, and the times such taxes are proposed to be continued, shall have first been submitted to the vote of the qualified electors of each of such counties, and voted for by the majority of those voting at such elections in all three such counties. The special tax provided herein may be renewed from time to time, in the manner provided herein, for such periods of time as are necessary. If any proposal to levy the taxes is defeated in any election, subsequent elections thereon may be held at any time. The elections provided for herein shall be called, held, conducted, and governed otherwise in the manner provided for an election on the school district tax authorized in amendment III [3], article XIX, of the Constitution of Alabama and by article 7, chapter 10, Title 52 of the Code of Alabama 1940; but the governing bodies of the counties of Lawrence, Limestone and Morgan shall each provide for paying the expense of the election in its county.

The county tax collector of each of such counties shall collect the tax in the same manner and under the same requirements and laws as the taxes of the state are collected, and he shall keep the proceeds of this tax separate and apart from all other funds, and shall keep clear accounts thereof. The tax collector shall distribute the proceeds of this special tax in the manner prescribed by the governing body of the county and the revenue derived from the tax levied hereunder shall be used for general health purposes in the county where levied or in cooperation with the other two counties named above.