Section 17-14-1

State and county officers who are elected by the people.

The following officers in this state shall be elected by the qualified electors thereof: Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Attorney General, Auditor, Secretary of State, Treasurer, Commissioner of Agriculture and Industries, public service commissioners, senators and representatives in the Legislature, Chief Justice and associate justices of the Supreme Court, judges of the courts of appeals, circuit courts, and district courts, district attorneys, judges of the probate court, sheriffs, coroners, clerks of the circuit courts, tax assessors, tax collectors, county treasurers in counties of more than 56,000 population, as provided by law, members of county commissions, constables, representatives in Congress, United States senators, electors for President and Vice President of the United States, and such other officers as may be required by law to be elected by the people, when not otherwise specially provided for.

(Code 1876, §243; Code 1886, §338; Code 1896, §1573; Code 1907, §331; Code 1923, §413; Code 1940, T. 17, §65; §17-2-1; amended and renumbered by Act 2006-570, p. 1331, §68.)