Section 17-7-22

Electronic Voting Committee.

There is hereby created the Alabama Electronic Voting Committee which shall consist of five members. The committee shall consist of a representative appointed by the Secretary of State, a representative appointed by the Attorney General, and one judge of probate who shall be recommended by the Alabama Probate Judges Association and appointed by the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court and shall serve without pay or reimbursement for expenses. Additionally, one member from the House of Representatives and one member from the Senate, to be appointed by the presiding officer of each house who shall be entitled to his or her regular legislative compensation, his or her per diem and travel expenses for each day he or she attends a meeting of the committee which shall be paid out of any funds appropriated to the use of the Legislature, upon warrants drawn on the state Comptroller upon requisitions signed by the committee's chair; provided, however, that members shall not receive additional legislative compensation or per diem when the Legislature is in session or if a member is being paid any other payments on the same dates for attendance of other state business. The judge of probate shall be chair. The committee shall meet at the call of the chair or any three members.

(Acts 1983, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 83-200, p. 374, §4; Act 99-663, 2nd Sp. Sess., p. 121, §1; §17-24-4; amended and renumbered by Act 2006-570, p. 1331, §39.)