(a) When a defendant is convicted of an offense, other than a criminal sex offense involving a child as defined in Section 15-20-21(5), which constitutes a Class A or B felony and receives a sentence of 20 years or less in any court having jurisdiction to try offenses against the State of Alabama and the judge presiding over the case is satisfied that the ends of justice and the best interests of the public as well as the defendant will be served thereby, he or she may order:
(1) That the convicted defendant be confined in a prison, jail-type institution, or treatment institution for a period not exceeding three years in cases where the imposed sentence is not more than 15 years, and that the execution of the remainder of the sentence be suspended notwithstanding any provision of the law to the contrary and that the defendant be placed on probation for such period and upon such terms as the court deems best. In cases involving an imposed sentence of greater than 15 years, but not more than 20 years, the sentencing judge may order that the convicted defendant be confined in a prison, jail-type institution, or treatment institution for a period not exceeding five years, but not less than three years, during which the offender shall not be eligible for parole or release because of deduction from sentence for good behavior under the Alabama Correctional Incentive Time Act, and that the remainder of the sentence be suspended notwithstanding any provision of the law to the contrary and that the defendant be placed on probation for the period upon the terms as the court deems best.
(2) That the convicted defendant may be confined, upon consultation with the Commissioner of the Alabama Department of Corrections (hereinafter called department) in a disciplinary, rehabilitation, conservation camp program (hereinafter called program) of the department. The convicted defendant shall be received into the department in accordance with applicable department rules and regulations and may be placed in the program after completion of this initial reception. The program shall be not less than 90 days nor more than 180 days in duration and shall be operated in accordance with department rules and regulations and as otherwise provided for by law. The commissioner of the department or his or her designee shall report to the sentencing court of each convicted defendant whether or not the convicted defendant completes or does not complete the program with any additional information that the commissioner or his or her designee shall wish to provide the court. Upon receipt of this report, the sentencing court may, upon its own order, suspend the remainder of the sentence and place the convicted defendant on probation as provided herein or order the convicted defendant to be confined to a prison, jail-type institution, or treatment institution for a period not to exceed three years and that the execution of the remainder of the sentence be suspended and the defendant be placed on probation for such period and upon such terms as the court deems best. If the sentencing court imposes additional confinement, as outlined above, credit shall be given for the actual time spent by the convicted defendant in the program. Conviction of an offense or prior offense of murder, rape first degree, kidnapping first degree, sodomy first degree, enticing a child to enter vehicle, house, etc., for immoral purposes, arson first degree, robbery first degree, and sentencing of life without parole will not be eligible for this program. It shall be the duty of the Joint Prison Committee as established by Sections 29-2-20 to 29-2-22, inclusive, to annually review the operation of the program and report their findings to the Alabama Legislature.
(b) Probation may not be granted for a criminal sex offense involving a child as defined in Section 15-20-21(5), which constitutes a Class A or B felony. Otherwise, probation may be granted whether the offense is punishable by fine or imprisonment or both. If an offense is punishable by both fine and imprisonment, the court may impose a fine and place the defendant on probation as to imprisonment. Probation may be limited to one or more counts or indictments, but, in the absence of express limitation, shall extend to the entire sentence and judgment.
(c) Regardless of whether the defendant has begun serving the minimum period of confinement ordered under the provisions of subsection (a), the court shall retain jurisdiction and authority throughout that period to suspend that portion of the minimum sentence that remains and place the defendant on probation, notwithstanding any provision of the law to the contrary and the court may revoke or modify any condition of probation or may change the period of probation.
(d) While incarcerated or on probation and among the conditions thereof, the defendant may be required:
(1) To pay a fine in one or several sums;
(2) To make restitution or reparation to aggrieved parties for actual damages or loss caused by the offense for which conviction was had; and
(3) To provide for the support of any persons for whose support he or she is legally responsible.
(e) The defendant's liability for any fine or other punishment imposed as to which probation is granted shall be fully discharged by the fulfillment of the terms and conditions of probation.
(f) During any term of probation, the defendant shall report to the probation authorities at such time and place as directed by the judge imposing sentence.
(g) No defendant serving a minimum period of confinement ordered under the provisions of subsection (a) shall be entitled to parole or to deductions from his or her sentence under the Alabama Correctional Incentive Time Act, during the minimum period of confinement so ordered; provided, however, that this subsection shall not be construed to prohibit application of the Alabama Correctional Incentive Time Act to any period of confinement which may be required after the defendant has served such minimum period.