Section 13A-8-31.2

Registration and reporting requirements.

(a) All secondary metals recyclers subject to this article shall register with the Alabama Criminal Justice Information Center (ACJIC) by August 31, 2012, and shall pay an annual registration fee of two hundred fifty dollars ($250) to ACJIC. In the event the electronic reporting system is not fully implemented by August 1, 2012, the record maintenance and reporting requirements of the current law shall remain in full force and effect until such time as the ACJIC electronic reporting system is fully implemented. The registration shall include the name of the business, address of the business, telephone number, and the name of the owner or owners of the business.

(b)(1) Prior to January 1, 2013, secondary metals recyclers shall continue to abide by any reporting requirements currently in effect and followed by the recyclers.

(2) Effective January 1, 2013, secondary metals recyclers shall enter the information required by subdivisions (1), (3), (4), (5), (7), and (9) of subsection (a) of Section 13A-8-31 into a database maintained by the ACJIC and shall transmit such information electronically to the database no later than 9:00 P.M. on the day of a purchase transaction. The ACJIC Commission in consultation with the members of the Alabama Recycling Association shall promulgate rules, regulations, and policies for the receipt and dissemination of the information in the database through ACJIC information systems. All information reported by secondary metals recyclers pursuant to this section shall be considered to be confidential and privileged and exempt from disclosure under Section 41-13-1. The ACJIC Commission shall ensure that adequate safeguards are incorporated and maintained so that the data may be accessed and used only by properly authorized law enforcement agencies for the purpose of investigating thefts of metal property. Any person releasing or using this data in an unauthorized manner shall be subject to the provisions of Section 13A-10-82.

(c) Any person who intentionally violates the requirements of this section shall be guilty of a Class B misdemeanor for a first offense, a Class A misdemeanor for a second offense, and a Class C felony for a third or subsequent offense within a 10-year period.

(Act 2012-426, p. 1149, §2.)