(a) The State Board of Examiners for Dietetics/Nutrition Practice is hereby created.
(b) The board shall consist of three members. Two members of the board shall be dietitians/nutritionists licensed under this chapter. One member of the board shall be a lay person. The Governor shall appoint board members. At least two names shall be submitted for each place on the board. No elected officer of the Alabama Dietetic Association, Inc., shall be eligible to serve on the board.
(c) Each dietitian/nutritionist on the board shall have been engaged in the practice of dietetics/nutrition for not less than seven years, with at least the last two years in the State of Alabama. The dietitians/nutritionists on the board shall be in different areas of practice, namely: Clinical dietetics and research, community dietetics, management, consultation and private practice, and education.
(d) The lay member of the board shall not be a spouse or relative of any other member of the board.
(e) Each member of the board shall serve for a term of three years and may succeed himself for one additional term; provided, however, that where a member was initially appointed either to create the board, or to fill a vacancy, such member may succeed himself for only one additional full term. Any person appointed to fill a vacancy on the board shall hold office for the remainder of the unexpired term of the former member. Each term of office shall expire on the date specified in the appointment and the member shall no longer be eligible to participate in board proceedings unless lawfully appointed. Members of the initial board shall be appointed in such a manner that one member shall serve a two-year term, one board member shall be appointed for a three-year term, and one board member shall be appointed for a four-year term.
(f) The dietitian/nutritionist members of the board shall become licensed during the first year of operation of the board. Thereafter, dietitian/nutritionist board members shall be licensed under this chapter.
(g) The board shall meet no less than twice a year.
(h) The duties of the board shall include:
(1) Promulgate rules and regulations necessary to implement this chapter.
(2) Adopt a code of ethics.
(3) Determine qualifications and fitness of applicants, issue licenses, reinstate licenses.
(4) Revoke, suspend, or deny a license.
(5) Receive and process complaints.
(6) Provide for examination or waiver of examination for applicants as specified by Commission on Dietetic Registration.
(7) Impose penalties.
(i) Each member of the board shall receive a per diem fee of not less than $25 and not more than $100 to be determined by the board for the time spent in the performance of his or her official duties and in necessary travel and shall be reimbursed for all travel and incidental expenses as provided by the laws of the State of Alabama and by regulations of the State Personnel Director incurred in carrying out provisions of this chapter. In setting the per diem fee, the board shall give due consideration to funds which are available for such purposes.