(a) The articles of dissolution and two copies thereof shall be delivered to the judge of probate. If the judge of probate finds that the articles of dissolution conform to law, the judge of probate shall, when all fees prescribed in this title have been paid:
(1) Endorse on the articles of dissolution and on each of the copies the word "filed," and the hour, day, month, and year of the filing thereof.
(2) File the articles of dissolution in the office of the judge of probate and certify the two copies thereof.
(3) Issue a certificate of dissolution to which the judge of probate shall affix a certified copy of the articles of dissolution, and return the certificate of dissolution with a certified copy of the articles of dissolution affixed thereto to the representative of the dissolved nonprofit corporation.
(4) Within 10 days after the issuance of the certificate of dissolution, transmit to the Secretary of State a certificate of dissolution with a certified copy of the articles of dissolution attached thereto, indicating thereon the place, date, and time of filing of the statement.
(b) For failure of the judge of probate to comply with the requirements of subsection (a)(4), the judge of probate shall forfeit fifty dollars ($50) to the State of Alabama to be recovered in an action by the State of Alabama.
(c) Upon the issuance of the certificate of dissolution, the existence of the nonprofit corporation shall cease, except for the purpose of suits, other proceedings, and appropriate corporate action by members, directors, and officers as provided in this chapter or otherwise in this title.