Section 11-52-12

Alternate structure for Class 3 municipality planning commission created pursuant to Section 11-52-3.

(a) The governing body of any Class 3 municipality may determine by ordinance that any planning commission of the municipality created pursuant to the provisions of Section 11-52-3 shall consist of 12 members: Namely, the mayor, or at the discretion of the mayor, any administrative assistant to the mayor or any administrative officer of the municipality under the supervision of the mayor; one administrative official of the municipality selected by the mayor; one member of the governing body selected by it as member ex officio; and nine members appointed by the mayor.

(b) Where an alternate planning commission structure of any Class 3 municipality has been provided for by ordinance as provided herein, the adoption of any plan or amendment by the commission shall be by resolution of the commission and shall be carried by the affirmative votes of not less than eight members of the commission. Six members of the commission shall constitute a quorum for the conduct of business. The approval of any subdivision and the passage of any question before the commission other than the adoption or amendment of any plan, shall be carried by majority of those members present.

(Acts 1980, No. 80-770, p. 1600.)