Section 16-52-3

Board of trustees - Creation; composition; expenses; emeritus status.

(a) There is created a Board of Trustees for Jacksonville State University, the state educational institution formerly known as Jacksonville State College at Jacksonville, Alabama.

(b) The board of trustees shall consist of two members from the congressional district in which the institution is located, one from each of the other congressional districts in the state, one at-large member from the state, one at-large member from outside of the state, and the Governor, who shall be ex officio president of the board.

(c) The trustees shall be appointed by the Governor, by and with the advice and consent of the Senate and, commencing on May 26, 2015, shall be appointed to hold office for a term of six years and until their successors shall be appointed and qualified. No trustee shall be appointed to serve more than a total of three full terms.

(d) No trustee shall receive any pay or emolument other than his or her actual expenses incurred in the discharge of his or her duties as such.

(e) A trustee who has attained the age of 75 years during a term of office may continue to serve until the expiration of that term. A trustee who has departed the board and who has attained the age of 70 years or older may be designated by the board as a Trustee Emeritus and may receive such honorary privileges as conferred by the board.

(f) No employee of Jacksonville State University shall be eligible to serve on its board of trustees.

(Acts 1967, No. 239, p. 615, §1; Act 2000-231, p. 366, §1; Act 2015-209, §1.)