Section 16-54-2

Board of trustees.

The University of Montevallo shall be governed by a board of trustees composed of the Governor, who shall be president, ex officio, the Superintendent of Education, ex officio, and 11 other trustees (one from each congressional district and, until as otherwise herein provided, a number of trustees from the state-at-large sufficient to bring the number to or keep it at 11.) Five members of the board shall constitute a quorum. Trustees shall be appointed for a term of 12 years. In case of the creation and establishment of an additional congressional district in the state, the at-large trustee most recently appointed shall automatically cease to be a trustee from the state-at-large and become for the remainder of the term trustee for such new district. Otherwise, all new appointees, except for the state-at-large, shall be at the time of their appointment, residents of the district for which they are appointed, respectively. All appointments of trustees shall be made by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate. In case of a vacancy in the office of trustee, the Governor shall appoint a successor, who shall hold office till the next meeting of the Legislature, when the Governor, by and with the advice and consent of the Senate, shall appoint a trustee, who shall hold office for the unexpired term. A trustee shall be ineligible to be elected by the board of trustees to or otherwise hold any office of the institution where compensation is provided. The trustees are entitled to receive payment of their actual expenses incurred in the discharge of their duties as such trustees.

(School Code 1927, §501; Code 1940, T. 52, §457; Acts 1979, No. 79-225, p. 342, §1.)