Section 16-61-1

Legislative intent.

The Legislature recognizes that the following public universities in Alabama which grant baccalaureate degrees and are independently accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools - the University of Alabama in Huntsville, the University of Alabama in Birmingham, the University of Alabama, Auburn University, Auburn University at Montgomery, Jacksonville State University, Troy State University, Troy State University in Montgomery, Troy State University in Dothan, the University of North Alabama, the University of South Alabama, Livingston University, the University of Montevallo, Alabama State University, Athens State College, and Alabama A & M University - would be greatly strengthened by the addition of distinguished scholars serving as resident faculty members.

It further recognizes that support from sources other than state appropriations, student fees, federal funds, research grants, and any interest earned thereon will help strengthen the commitment of citizens and organizations in promoting excellence in these state universities. It is therefore the intent of the Legislature to establish a trust fund to provide the opportunity to each of these institutions to receive grants from the trust fund to create endowments for selected eminent scholars to occupy chairs within the university's faculty.

(Acts 1985, No. 85-759, p. 1265, §1; Acts 1993, No. 93-716, p. 1401, §1.)