Section 2-13A-2

Appointment of members to the Southern Dairy Compact Commission.

(a) The delegation from the State of Alabama to the Southern Dairy Compact Commission, as established in Article IV of Section 2-13A-1 of the Compact, shall be composed of the following five appointed members:

(1) One member representing consumers of milk, appointed by the Governor.

(2) One member appointed by the House of Representatives upon the recommendation of the Speaker of the House of Representatives.

(3) One member appointed by the Senate upon the recommendation of the Lieutenant Governor.

(4) Two members appointed by the Commissioner of Agriculture, one of whom shall be a dairy farmer engaged in the production of milk at the time of appointment or reappointment, and the second would be a handler engaged in the processing of fluid milk.

(b) Members shall be registered to vote in the state.

(c) Members shall serve a term of four years and may be reappointed, but no member shall serve more than three consecutive terms. Members shall serve until their successors are duly appointed. Any appointment to fill an unexpired term shall be for the balance of the unexpired term and shall be made by the appropriate appointing authority. A member may be removed by the appointing authority for cause. The Commissioner of Agriculture shall designate one member of the delegation to serve as chair, at the pleasure of the commissioner.

(d) Members of the delegation shall receive per diem and necessary travel and subsistence expenses.

(e) A majority of the delegation shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of business.

(f) All clerical and other services required by the delegation shall be provided by the Commissioner of Agriculture.

(Act 98-305, p. 498, §2.)