Section 25-8-33

Persons under 16 years of age prohibited from working; exceptions; evidence of employment.

(a) No individual under 16 years of age shall be employed, except in agricultural service, and except as otherwise provided in this chapter. Any individual 14 or 15 years of age may be employed outside school hours and during school vacation periods, so long as the individual is not employed in, about, or in connection with, any manufacturing or mechanical establishment, cannery, mill, workshop, warehouse, or machine shop or in any occupation or place of employment otherwise prohibited by law. The presence of any individual under 18 years of age in any restricted business establishment or restricted occupation shall be prima facie evidence of his or her employment in the business establishment or occupation.

(b)(1) This section does not apply to an individual 14 years of age or 15 years of age when both of the following are true:

a. The individual is enrolled in either a youth pre-apprenticeship program, youth industry-registry apprenticeship program, or similar program in which employment and work-based learning are an integral part of the course of study.

b. The program the individual is enrolled in is registered by the Alabama Office of Apprenticeship.

(2) This section does not apply to employment procured by an individual 14 years of age or 15 years of age when the employment is supervised through the Alabama Department of Education and approved by the Alabama Department of Labor.

(Acts 1919, No. 629, p. 867; Code 1923, §3494; Code 1940, T. 26, §343; Acts 1947, No. 613, p. 460, §1; §25-8-1; Acts 1995, No. 95-604, p. 1263, §2; Act 2012-231, p. 424, §1; Act 2019-527, §4.)