Section 32-12-22

License requirements of persons operating motor-driven cycles.

(a) A person operating a motor-driven cycle with a Class M motorcycle license with a motor-driven cycle restriction, a motorcycle Class M displayed on the person's regular license, or a Class M motorcycle license shall be granted all of the rights and shall be subject to all of the duties applicable to the driver of any other vehicle under Chapter 6 of this title, except as to special regulations in this article and those provisions of this chapter which by their nature can have no application.

(b)(1) A Class M motorcycle license with a motor-driven cycle restriction shall be issued to any person 14 years and older if the person has passed a motorcycle knowledge test designated by the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency or if the individual has successfully completed an Alabama Traffic Safety Center/Alabama Motorcycle Safety Program, Motorcycle Safety Foundation, Basic Riders Course.

(2) A person 17 years of age or younger operating a motor-driven cycle shall be subject to the operating hours, exceptions, and suspensions provided in Section 32-6-7.2.

(c) This section and the portion of Section 32-5A-240 amended by Act 2015-223 do not apply to a person who has obtained a license to operate a motorcycle or a motor-driven cycle prior to January 1, 2016.

(Acts 1949, No. 652, p. 1006, §3; Act 2015-223, §§1, 2.)