(a) Upon application to the judge of probate or license commissioner, compliance with motor vehicle registration and licensing laws, payment of regular fees required by law for license plates for private passenger or pleasure motor vehicles, and payment of an additional annual fee of fifty dollars ($50) for a prenumbered license plate or upon payment of an annual fee of sixty dollars ($60) for a personalized license plate, owners of motor vehicles who are residents of Alabama shall be issued distinctive Alabama Wildlife Federation license plates.
(b) These plates shall be valid for five years, and may then be replaced with plates of the same type or other valid plates.
(c) Payment of required license fees and taxes for the years during which a new plate is not issued shall be evidenced as provided in Section 32-6-63.
(d) The Alabama Wildlife Federation shall design, or have designed, the plate which design shall be approved by the Department of Revenue. Section 32-6-54 shall not apply to the plates designed pursuant to this section.
(e) The plates shall be issued, printed, and processed like other distinctive and personalized plates provided for in this chapter.