Section 32-6-640

Issuance of distinctive plates; fees; design.

(a) Notwithstanding Sections 32-6-64, 32-6-67, and 32-6-68, upon application and submission of an identification card, leave and earnings statement, or a DD214 form to the judge of probate, license commissioner, or other license issuing official, compliance with motor vehicle registration and licensing laws, payment of regular fees required by law for license tags or plates for private passenger, pickup trucks, or pleasure motor vehicles, owners of motor vehicles who are residents of Alabama and are active or retired members or honorably discharged from the U.S. Marine Corps shall be issued distinctive U.S. Marine Corps license tags or plates. These tags or plates shall be valid for five years, and may then be replaced with either conventional or new U.S. Marine Corps tags or plates.

(b) Active members of the U.S. Marine Corps shall pay an additional fee of three dollars ($3) in the year the license plate is issued. Retired and honorably discharged members of the U.S. Marine Corps shall pay an annual additional fee of twenty-five dollars ($25).

(c) Payment of required license fees and taxes for the years during which a new tag or plate is not issued shall be evidenced as provided in Section 32-6-63.

(d) The U.S. Marine Corps license plate shall be designed by the Department of Alabama Marine Corps League and approved by the Department of Revenue.

(e) The tags or plates shall be issued, printed, and processed like other distinctive plates provided for by law.

(f) The net proceeds of the additional revenues derived from sales of the distinctive plates, less administrative costs including the costs of production incurred by the Department of Corrections in producing the plates, shall be distributed by each judge of probate, license commissioner, or other license issuing official to the state Comptroller. The state Comptroller shall distribute the proceeds monthly to the Department of Alabama Marine Corps League.

(g) The Department of Revenue may promulgate any rules necessary to administer this section.

(Act 2009-637, p. 1956, §1.)