(a) Notwithstanding Sections 32-6-64, 32-6-67, and 32-6-68, upon application to the judge of probate or license commissioner, compliance with motor vehicle registration and licensing laws, payment of regular fees required by law for license plates for private passenger or pleasure motor vehicles, and payment of an additional annual fee of fifty dollars ($50), owners of motor vehicles who are residents of Alabama shall be issued distinctive law enforcement memorial license plates.
(b) These plates shall be valid for five years, and may then be replaced with either conventional, personalized, or new law enforcement memorial license plates.
(c) Payment of required license fees and taxes for the years during which a new plate is not issued shall be evidenced as provided in Section 32-6-63.
(d) Officials from the State Law Enforcement Memorial in Anniston, Alabama, may submit a design of the plate honoring law enforcement officers killed in the line of duty. The design shall be approved by the Department of Revenue and the Legislative Oversight Committee for License Plates prior to production. Section 32-6-54 shall not apply to the plates designed pursuant to this section.
(e) The plates shall be issued, printed, and processed like other distinctive and personalized plates provided for in this chapter.
(f) The additional revenues derived from the sales of the distinctive motor vehicle license plates shall be distributed as follows: Twenty-five dollars ($25) of the additional fee to the State Law Enforcement Memorial in Anniston, Alabama, and twenty-five dollars ($25) of the additional fee to the State General Fund.