(a) An application for a license under this chapter shall be made in writing, under oath, and in the form as the department may prescribe.
(b) The application shall include all of the following:
(1) The legal name, business address, and telephone number of the applicant and, if the applicant is a partnership, association, corporation, or other group of individuals, however organized, the legal name, residence, and business address of every principal, together with the resume of the applicant and of every principal of the applicant.
(2) The name under which the applicant will conduct business in the state.
(3) The complete address of the applicant's initial registered office and any other locations at which the applicant will engage in any business activity covered by this chapter.
(4) Any other data, financial statements, and pertinent information as the department may require with respect to the applicant, its directors, principals, trustees, officers, members, or agents.
(5) Evidence that at least one principal or executive officer has at least two years of experience in the mortgage industry. This experience shall have been within the previous four years from the date of application. Evidence should include the principal's resume and contact numbers for the company for which the individual worked or is currently working. Each principal or executive officer that originates mortgage loans shall also obtain a mortgage loan originator's license under the Alabama Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing Act.
(c) The applications shall be filed together with the following:
(1) A nonrefundable fee of six hundred dollars ($600).
(2) A financial statement of the applicant, prepared within 90 days of the filing of the application and covering the most recent fiscal year preceding the date of application, which demonstrates that the applicant has a bona fide and verifiable tangible net worth capital of twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000). A consolidated Securities and Exchange Commission Annual Report Form 10-K shall meet the requirements of this chapter for the licensee if it shows a net worth or stockholder's equity of the licensee in an amount of at least twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000). The department may require the applicant or licensee to obtain a surety bond in lieu of the net worth requirement in order to fulfill the requirements of the Alabama Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing Act. The amount of the surety bond will be determined by the department. The surety bond will be in favor of the State of Alabama for the use, benefit, and indemnity of any person who suffers damage or loss as a result of the company's breach of contract or of any obligation arising therefrom or any violation of the law.
(3) A set of fingerprints from any local law enforcement agency for the following:
a. All persons acting as a sole proprietorship.
b. All partners in a partnership.
c. All principals of a corporation.
(d) The department may require applicants to apply through the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System and Registry. In order to carry out this requirement, the supervisor is authorized to participate in the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System and Registry. For this purpose, the supervisor may establish by rule or order requirements as necessary, including, but not limited to, the following:
(1) Background checks that include any of the following:
a. Criminal history through fingerprint or other database.
b. Civil or administrative records.
c. Credit history.
d. Any other information deemed necessary by the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System and Registry.
(2) The payment of fees to apply for or renew licenses through the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System and Registry.