Section 8-6-52

Terms of office of appointed members; filling of vacancies; reappointment of members.

(a) The Governor shall biennially appoint one Securities Commission member to serve for a term of four years; provided, however, that the Governor shall designate for the initial appointments one member to serve for a term of two years and one member to serve for a term of four years from their respective dates of appointment and qualification. Upon the expiration of these initial terms, the term of each member shall be four years from the date of his appointment and qualification, until his successor shall qualify; provided further, however, that, on April 4, 1988, no member shall serve more than two consecutive terms of office.

(b) Vacancies shall be filled by the Governor for the unexpired term.

(c) Members shall be eligible for reappointment.

(Acts 1969, No. 740, p. 1315, §3; Acts 1988, No. 88-137, p. 199, §3.)