Section 9-11-44.1

Certification of completion of approved hunter education course required for issuance of license; penalty; "supervision required" status.

(a) It shall be unlawful for any person born on or after August 1, 1977, and of 16 years of age or older, or his or her agent, to procure any annual, trip, or wildlife heritage hunting license unless the person has been issued and exhibits to the issuing agent at the time of purchasing any annual, trip, or wildlife heritage hunting license, a certification of satisfactory completion by the person of a hunter education course approved by the Department of Conservation and Natural Resources. The person shall only be required to exhibit the certification at the time of purchase of his or her initial license. The exhibition of the certification shall not be required at the time of purchase of subsequent licenses if the person exhibits to the issuing agent at the time of purchase a license which was issued by this state to him or her in a previous year. Notwithstanding the foregoing, active duty U.S. military personnel, Alabama residents who are active members of the National Guard of the United States, and persons certified by the Alabama Peace Officers Standards and Training Commission as law enforcement officers who are employed by a law enforcement agency, as the terms are defined in Section 36-21-40, upon submission of proof of that status, shall be exempt from this requirement. The Commissioner of Conservation and Natural Resources may provide by regulation for the specific proof requirements.

(b) Except as otherwise provided in subsection (a), it shall be unlawful for any person authorized to issue hunting licenses in this state to issue any annual, trip, or wildlife heritage hunting license to any person born on or after August 1, 1977, or his or her agent, unless that license agent shall have been provided with a certification of satisfactory completion by the person of a hunter education course approved by the Department of Conservation and Natural Resources or in lieu of a certification a license issued by the state to the person in a previous year.

(c) Except as otherwise provided in subsection (a), it shall be unlawful for any person born on or after August 1, 1977, of 16 years of age or older, to hunt in the State of Alabama pursuant to any Alabama lifetime hunting or Alabama lifetime hunting and fishing license, without the person first obtaining a certification of satisfactory completion by the person of a hunter education course approved by the Department of Conservation and Natural Resources.

(d) It shall be unlawful for any person or his or her agent to wrongfully or fraudulently obtain or issue this certification.

(e) The Commissioner of the Department of Conservation and Natural Resources may provide by regulation the procedure whereby the department may revoke or cancel any hunting license and/or hunter education certification upon determination that the holder thereof was not entitled to issuance or obtained the license or certification by any fraudulent means. Upon revocation or cancellation, the holder thereof shall surrender the license and/or certification to the Department of Conservation and Natural Resources.

(f) The Department of Conservation and Natural Resources, Division of Wildlife and Freshwater Fisheries, shall prescribe a course of instruction in competency and safety in hunting and in the handling of firearms and archery equipment. The Division of Wildlife and Freshwater Fisheries shall also prescribe procedures whereby competent residents of this state shall be certified as hunter education instructors. The Division of Wildlife and Freshwater Fisheries may approve hunter education courses from other jurisdictions.

(g) Any person violating any provision of this section shall be guilty of a Class B misdemeanor.

(h) Notwithstanding the foregoing provisions of this section, a person may obtain any required trip, annual, or wildlife heritage hunting license without the above-required certification, but shall only be entitled to hunt under a "supervision required" status, which shall be noted on the face of the license, under which the person may only hunt under the supervision of another person otherwise meeting the requirements of subsection (a) as a licensed or otherwise lawful hunter, aged 21 years or older, who is not the holder of the "supervision required" license. For the purposes of this subsection, "supervision" shall mean under the normal voice control, not to exceed 30 feet, of the supervising person.

(Acts 1991, No. 91-600, p. 1106, §1; Act 2004-449, p. 794, §1; Act 2007-418, p. 874, §1.)