(a) Any person who has been a bona fide resident of this state for a period of not less than 90 days next preceding and who is age 16 or older, but has not yet reached the age of 65, shall not take, catch, kill, possess, or attempt to take, catch, kill, or possess, any fish in any of the waters of this state (except those waters for which a license is required by Section 9-11-53) below that line defined in Rule 220-2-.42(1) of the Department of Conservation and Natural Resources as published in the Alabama Administrative Code, by angling with rod and reel or by use of any artificial bait, fly, lure, gig, cast net, bow, crab traps that are not required to be licensed by Section 9-12-124, or by spear fishing, as defined by Section 9-11-170, without first procuring an annual resident saltwater fishing license for twenty dollars ($20), plus a one dollar ($1) issuance fee, which fees shall be subject to adjustment as provided for in Section 9-11-69. All persons making application for the license provided for in this section shall present an Alabama driver license or, in the case of nondrivers, proof of permanent residence. All licenses required by this section shall bear the driver license number of the licensee, except in the case of nondrivers, and all licenses shall bear proof of residence as required by the Commissioner of Conservation and Natural Resources. Notwithstanding the foregoing, a member of the United States military stationed in Alabama on active duty, and his or her spouse and their dependents who reside with them, shall be deemed to be Alabama residents for the purposes of procuring this license. This license shall not be required of any person who has been issued and is the holder of any valid lifetime fishing license that is provided for in Section 9-11-65, provided that such license was issued on or before March 31, 1992, or any valid lifetime saltwater fishing license that is provided for in Section 9-11-65.2. This saltwater fishing license shall not be required of permanent Alabama residents under 16 years of age or age 65 years or over, provided, however, that residents age 65 years or older shall be required to have in their actual possession, while fishing, an Alabama driver license, or in the case of nondrivers, proof of permanent Alabama residence and age. The revenue derived from the sale of the license provided for in this section shall be remitted to the Department of Conservation and Natural Resources on the first day of each month by the issuing officer and shall be covered into the State Treasury to the credit of the Marine Resources Fund and shall be used in the research, management, and development of saltwater fisheries. It shall be unlawful to provide false information in the process of obtaining the license.
(b) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, any resident 64 years of age who procures a resident saltwater fishing license pursuant to this section shall be issued the license on a lifetime basis. The license fees from the sale of a lifetime license pursuant to this subsection shall be deposited to the credit of the Alabama Marine Resources Endowment Fund within the Marine Resources Fund.
(c) Any person who violates any of the provisions of this section shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be punished by a fine of not less than fifty dollars ($50) nor more than two hundred fifty dollars ($250) for each offense.