Section 9-11-71

Wildlife heritage license.

(a) There is established a wildlife heritage license. This license shall have a fee of nine dollars ($9), plus an issuance fee of one dollar ($1), which fees shall be subject to adjustment as provided for in Section 9-11-68, if purchased separately from one of the other licenses. The wildlife heritage license shall enable all Alabama residents age 16 through 64 years to do the following: Fish those waters under the jurisdiction of the Division of Wildlife and Freshwater Fisheries as provided under Rule 220-2-.42, Alabama Administrative Code, with a hook and line from the bank in other than the person's county of residence; fish in Division of Wildlife and Freshwater Fisheries operated public fishing lakes, provided that the person obtains the required permit; hunt small game, except waterfowl, on Division of Wildlife and Freshwater Fisheries Wildlife Management Areas; shoot on Division of Wildlife and Freshwater Fisheries shooting ranges; and provide a means to contribute to the conservation of all wildlife species. The requirements for the issuance of the wildlife heritage license shall be as provided in subsection (c) of Section 9-11-44. The wildlife heritage license may be issued on a lifetime basis for a license fee of two hundred dollars ($200) which shall include a one dollar ($1) issuance fee, which fees shall be subject to adjustment as provided for in Section 9-11-68.

(b) The initial five hundred thousand dollars ($500,000) of license revenues accruing to the Division of Wildlife and Freshwater Fisheries as a result of the licenses sold under this section shall be utilized by the Division of Wildlife and Freshwater Fisheries for the purpose of research on wildlife and wildlife habitat as approved by the Advisory Board of Conservation and Natural Resources.

(Act 2007-418, p. 874, §4.)