Section 9-14C-5

Meetings; functions; officers; advisory board.

(a) The commission shall hold an annual meeting in Jefferson County. A majority of members shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of business. Additional meetings may be held at the times and places within the state as may be necessary, desirable, or convenient upon call of the chair, or in the case of his or her absence or incapacity, of the vice-chair, or on the call of any three members of the commission.

(b) The commission shall determine and establish its own organization and procedure in accordance with this article and shall have an official seal.

(c) The commission shall have the right to rename the Red Mountain Greenway and Recreational Area as it determines.

(d) The commission shall elect a chair, vice-chair, secretary, and treasurer, and such officers shall hold office for a period of one year or until a successor is elected. Neither the secretary nor the treasurer need be members of the commission. The commission may require that the treasurer be bonded in an amount to be determined by the commission.

(e) The commission may establish an advisory board to make recommendations to the commission on operational, fund raising, legal, technical, or other matters.

(Act 2006-542, p. 1256, §5.)