Any person engaged in the business of coal brokering or operating a coal sales agency in the State of Alabama and each and every person, corporation or other legal entity operating an electric system for the sale of electric energy for resale, sale to the public or sale to its members and each and every industrial purchaser of coal in the State of Alabama shall report, on a form to be furnished by the regulatory authority, at intervals of not less than 60 days, the name, address, license number and permit number of the producer of all coal purchased by it since its last reporting period. In the event that any person named in the preceding sentence purchases coal mined outside of the State of Alabama, such facts shall be so noted on the form described above. Failure of the persons described in this section to render such reports shall constitute a misdemeanor punishable by fine of not more than $5,000.00; provided, that prior to instituting any such action, the regulatory authority, in the case of a first offense only, shall notify such person by certified or registered mail of the failure to comply with this provision of this article and shall afford such person not more than 10 days to furnish such report. Officers, employees and agents of the regulatory authority shall be permitted to inspect the records and books of the persons specified above to determine the accuracy of such reports, such inspection to take place at reasonable times. In no event shall the regulatory authority require disclosure of the amounts of any purchase or the purchase price paid for such coal or of any information other than that set forth above, except by specific subpoena in preparation for hearing or other enforcement action.